Pride Foundation Scholarships

Home » Blog » Scholarships by State »  Alaska Scholarships » Pride Foundation Scholarships

Pride Foundation Scholarships

Pride Foundation is proud to make an available number of scholarship programs that work toward a good cause. Each year, the foundation strives to provide essential financial resources and community support to LGBTQ+ and allied student leaders in the Northwest. These scholarships are targeted to help particularly those who have to experience barriers due to race, economic circumstances, identity, ability, location, or lack of family support. These scholarships are available for students, athletes, and individuals from the LGBTQ community etc.

Pride Foundation’s first scholarship was established in 1993 by Brian M. Day who was an activist and community leader. That scholarship opportunity was aimed to support gay men of colour who are leaders in their communities and are experiencing significant financial hardship. Today, the foundation offers over 60 different scholarship programs covering a wide range of characteristics and majors to help as many people as possible who have been underrepresented due to their race, identity and financial condition.

Pride Foundation is a leading LGBT philanthropic foundation based in the Pacific Northwest. The foundation is the only LGBTQ+ community foundation. It has been serving the Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. This foundation works toward the advance equity and justice for LGBTQ+ people in all communities across the Northwest. It envisions the world in which all LGBTQ+ people can live safely and openly.

Brief Description

Take a look at the table for more details:

Organization Pride Foundation
Educational Level All
Subjects All
Amount Varies
Access Mode Online
Number of Awards Multiple
City Seattle
Nationality Domestic
Country United States
Application Deadline January 8, 2021
Application Fee N/A
Requirements N/A

 Who May Be Eligible?

Take a look at the requirements below to be eligible for the program:

  •  Applicants must be a resident of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, or Washington but may study elsewhere. They are currently living within that state and have done so for at least three months before the application deadline or have lived within that state for at least one year at any time within the five years before the application deadline;
  • Applicants must be pursuing post-secondary education. This includes community college, four-year public or private college or university, certificate programs, vocational/technical/trade programs, law school, medical/dental/veterinary school, or graduate education;
  • Current college students and those individuals planning to enrol in a program next year are eligible as are current high school seniors;
  • Show leadership potential either within the LGBTQ+ community or within their field of study;
  • Lack of a broader LGBTQ+ community support system;
  • Face additional barriers to educational access, including students who are economically, racially, socially, geographically, or politically disenfranchised;
  • Demonstrate significant financial need.

How to Apply

All interested applicants can apply through the online portal of the Pride Foundation. Applications reviewed late January through early April.


Scholarship amount varies from scholarship to scholarship. Please click on “apply now” below to get detailed information in this regard:

  • Bellevue PFLAG Scholarship
  • Bill Bendiner and Doug Morgenson Scholarship
  • Bill McKnight Legacy Scholarship
  • Deloris Carter Hampton Scholarship
  • Dunham-Kerley Scholarship
  • Emerson-Hoopes Scholarship
  • Frank W. Ross Memorial Scholarship
  • Friends of Alan Turing Scholarship
  • Kevin J. Mossier Scholarship
  • Len Tritsch Memorial Scholarship
  • Northwest Association of Educational Opportunity Programs (NAEOP-TRIO)
  • Paul Arnold Memorial Scholarship
  • Phoenix Two-Spirit Native & First Nations Scholarship
  • Ric Ulrich and Chuck Pischke Scholarship
  • Robert Browning Scholarship
  • Rosenberg-Ibarra Scholarship
  • Soaring Heart Scholarship
  • Thelma Fisher Dewitty Scholarship
  • Thompson-Wittrock Pass It On Scholarship
  • Tony DeBlase Scholarship

Application Deadline

 The applications are open from October 11th through January 8th. Applications submitted by this period will be reviewed late January through early April. Final Decision Notifications will be sent the week of April 26, 2021.

Apply Now  

About the author

Indu has been educator since last 10 years. She can find all kind of scholarship opportunities in the USA and beyond. She also teach college courses online to help students become better. She is one of the very rare scholarship administrator and her work is amazing.