Alice Barton Scholarship Program for Iowa Students

Home » Blog » Scholarships by State » Iowa Scholarships » Alice Barton Scholarship Program for Iowa Students

Alice Barton Scholarship Program for Iowa Students

Alice Barton Scholarship Program assists people with expanding their self-assurance, tracking down better business, and accomplishing financial freedom. The Alice Barton Scholarship Program accomplishes this mission through yearly grants of $2,000 awarded to individuals who are survivors of domestic violence. The cash might be utilized to pay the educational cost, books, and charges for classes, and a part might be used to support the educational and career-related efforts.

The Alice Barton Scholarship Program was established by Roxanne Conlin, her sibling Raymond Barton, and her sister Rhoda Olsen, out of appreciation for their mom Alice Barton, a domestic violence survivor. Roxanne Conlin is a notable Iowa preliminary lawyer and long-term ally of ICADV. There are three scholarships available that will be granted to survivors who are residing in Iowa or are going to an Iowa-certify instructive stage. Preference will be given to survivor candidates looking for their first higher education or specialized work preparation and who have finished the Allstate Foundation Financial Literacy educational plan or another monetary proficiency program. Survivors are urged to apply regardless of whether they fit the priority regions.

Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence (ICADV) is the driving voice to end intimate accomplice savagery in Iowa. Through their organization of 22 statewide casualty administration programs, they give support to any individual who has been a subject of domestic violence previously, during, and after.

Brief Description

Below we have a brief description of the following scholarship:

OrganizationIowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Education LevelCollege students
Access ModeOnline
Number of Awards30
State Iowa
Contest DeadlineNovember 30, 2021
Application FeesNot required

Who is Eligible?

The eligibility criteria for the following scholarship are as follows:

  • The scholarship program is only open to survivors who reside in Iowa or are attending an Iowa-accredited educational platform. 

Priority will be given to survivor applicants:

  • seeking their first college degree or technical job training,
  • whom a local domestic violence program has referred, and
  • who has completed the Allstate Foundation Financial Literacy curriculum or another financial literacy program offered at their local domestic violence program?
  • Survivors are encouraged to apply even if they do not fit the priority areas.

How to Apply?

Apply for this scholarship by completing the scholarship application provided on the portal in the form of a pdf. It must be filled and mailed to Elizabeth Albright Battles Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence 4725 Merle Hay Road, Suite 107 Des Moines, IA 50322. OR be sent via email to


The scholarship committee will review all the applications and out of the eligible applications, around 30 candidates will be awarded the grant worth $2,000 each.

Application Deadline

To be considered for this scholarship, the candidates must submit their applications before or on November 30, 2021.

Apply Now

About the author

Indu has been educator since last 10 years. She can find all kind of scholarship opportunities in the USA and beyond. She also teach college courses online to help students become better. She is one of the very rare scholarship administrator and her work is amazing.